OUR eBOOKS

African eBooks to read on computer and mobile phones

By mid 2020, NENA has already published more than 1,700 eBooks in all the fields covered by our African authors. Most of them are in ePub and HTML format, for local or online reading, and on any medium (computer, tablet, smartphone, eBook reader). More complex works are in interactive PDF format. All of them offer a rich hypertext navigation feature.

OUR DIGITAL AUDIOBOOKS

African tales and stories to listen to

What could be more relevant in a continent characterized by the tradition of oral communication than to have access to digital books, not only to read, but also to listen to? NENA offers its collection of African fables and tales in audiobooks, to be downloaded on an MP3 player, or listened to online.

OUR DIGITAL BOOKSTORE

The site where to find African authors

All eBooks and audiobooks published by NENA are available on its African Digital Bookstore site, along with those published by other French and English-speaking African publishers. More than 3,000 titles are planned for 2020. The interface, which is responsive to mobile devices, is deliberately sober and free of any commercial aggression, and offers advanced search functions (by thematic classification, index, full-text search, filtering, similar documents), allowing quick retrieval of records. Several means of payment are offered, including offline purchase, before downloading or reading online.

OUR DIGITAL LIBRAIRIES

Subscribe to read everything in the year

Our digital libraries are the simplest and most economical way for students, scholars, researchers, professionals and managers to access our eBook catalogue. Accessible from the ADB, they bring together our digital publications by domain: literature, social sciences, art and culture, youth, law, etc. They can be consulted online from our bookshop site on a subscription basis. Some digital libraries for primary and secondary schools are available on the eBook readers.

OUR DIGITAL ARCHIVES

African Documentary Heritage in Open Access

Commercially published books do not constitute the totality of Africa’s written heritage. For theses, dissertations, conferences, research reports, and any other type of document of the “grey literature” or “archive” type, NENA offers its service of creation, hosting and dissemination of African archive collections. In 2020, a first fund, that of the influential Egyptian economist Samir Amin, has been open for free consultation.

OUR PHYSICAL LIBRAIRIES

Places of culture and knowledge for the people of Africa

The ultimate goal remains the accessibility and reading of African works. Digital is not everything and there is still room for traditional libraries. So NENA offers its service of setting up physical libraries with its computerized catalogue. In 2018, NENA inaugurated the People’s Development Library in Dakar with its partners. Some 5,000 documents have been catalogued there, and the layout was designed and built. A multimedia room was set up with eBook readers and online access to NENA’s digital libraries.

NOS LIVRES NUMÉRIQUES

Les livres africains à lire sur ordinateur et mobile.

Mi 2020, NENA a publié et revend environ 3 000 livres numériques dans tous les domaines couverts par nos auteurs africains, moitié en français, moitié en anglais. La plupart sont en format ePub et HTML, pour une lecture locale ou en ligne, et sur tout support (ordinateur, tablette, téléphone, liseuse). Les ouvrages plus complexes, comme les nombreux recueils de droit africain, sont en PDF interactif. Tous offrent une riche fonctionnalité de navigation hypertexte.

NOS AUDIOLIVRES NUMÉRIQUES

Des contes et récits africains à écouter.

Quoi de plus pertinent dans un continent caractérisé par la tradition de l’oralité que d’avoir accès à des livres numériques, pas seulement à lire, mais aussi à écouter? NENA propose sa collection de fables et contes africains en audiolivres, à télécharger sur un lecteur MP3, ou à écouter en ligne.

NOTRE LIBRAIRIE NUMÉRIQUE

Le site où trouver les auteurs africains.

Tous les livres et audiolivres numériques publiés par NENA sont disponibles sur son site de la Librairie numérique africaine, avec en plus ceux publiés par d’autres éditeurs africains francophones et anglophones. Au-delà de 3 000 titres sont prévus en 2020. L’interface, adaptable sur les équipements mobiles, et volontairement sobre et épurée de toute agressivité commerciale, propose des fonctions de recherche avancées (par classification thématique, par index, dans le texte, filtrage, document similaire), permettant un repérage rapide des notices. Plusieurs moyens de paiement sont proposés, y compris l’achat hors ligne, avant le téléchargement ou la lecture en ligne.

NOS BIBLIOTHEQUES NUMERIQUES

S’abonner pour tout lire dans l’année.

Nos bibliothèques numériques sont la voie la plus simple et économique pour permettre aux élèves, étudiants, chercheurs, professionnels, gestionnaires, d’accéder à notre catalogue d’éditeur et de libraire. Accessibles depuis la LNA, elles rassemblent nos publications numériques par domaine : littérature, sciences sociales, art et culture, jeunesse, droit, etc. Elles se consultent en ligne sur abonnement depuis notre site de librairie. Certaines bibliothèques numériques pour les écoles primaires et secondaires sont diffusées sur liseuse.

NOS ARCHIVES NUMERIQUES

Le patrimoine documentaire africain en accès ouvert.

Les livres publiés dans le commerce ne constituent pas la totalité du patrimoine écrit de l’Afrique. Pour les thèses, mémoires, conférences, rapports de recherche, et tout autre type de document de type « littérature grise » ou « archives », NENA propose son service de création, d’hébergement et de diffusion de fonds d’archives africaines sur son site du Patrimoine numérique africain . En 2020, un premier fonds d’archives ouvertes est offert en consultation gratuite, avec les archives de l’influent économiste égyptien Samir Amin.

NOS BIBLIOTHEQUES PHYSIQUES

Des lieux de culture et de savoir pour le peuple d’Afrique.

Le but final demeure l’accessibilité et la lecture des œuvres africaines. Le numérique n’est pas tout et il y a place encore pour des bibliothèques traditionnelles. Aussi NENA offre son service de mise sur pied de bibliothèques physiques avec son catalogue informatisé. En 2018, NENA inaugurait à Dakar avec ses partenaires la Bibliothèque populaire du développement. Quelques 5 000 documents y avaient été catalogués, l’aménagement conçu et réalisé. Pour le numérique, une salle multimedia était mise en place, avec liseuses et accès en ligne à des bibliothèques numériques de NENA.